CD - For a Look or a Touch




Buy Now

Young American composer Jake Heggie and librettist Gene Scheer’s “brilliant, moving work” (American Record Guide) is based on the true story of two gay teenage lovers the Holocaust tore apart forever. With an elegiac piece for cello and string quartet, In Memoriam, by Gerard Schwarz; and American composer Lori Laitman’s song cycle The Seed of Dream, based on poetry by Vilna Ghetto survivor Abraham Sutzkever.

For a Look or a Touch

Morgan Smith, baritone; Julian Patrick, actor

  1. Prelude: Do You Remember 4:16
  2. The Voice 5:13
  3. Golden Years 5:48
  4. The Story of Joe 4:26
  5. Silence 3:59
  6. Der Singende Wald (The Singing Forest) 3:21
  7. Remember 6:43

In Memoriam

Julian Schwarz, cello

  1. In Memoriam 9:06

The Seed of Dream

Erich Parce, baritone

  1. I Lie in This Coffin 3:42
  2. A Load of Shoes 1:46
  3. To My Child 5:34
  4. Beneath the Whiteness of Your Stars 4:19
  5. No Sad Songs Please 2:36

Total Playing Time: 01:00:49

Naxos 8.559379